The Old Kingdom of Egypt History

The Old Kingdom is the name given to the later period of the Archaic Age.this era is called the era of the pyramid builders because of the beginning of the existence of pyramids in ancient Egyptian architecture and in abundance, so we had from the remains of that period the three pyramids of Giza. and one of the first rulers of this period was King Djoser, owner of the step pyramid.

Old Kingdom of Egypt History

The old kingdom of Egypt, or the ancient Empire, is the first major period in the history of ancient Egypt, with a strong and stable political, religious, and cultural system following the unification of all of Egypt in the archaic period, but before we talk about the old kingdom of Egypt history, we have to get back to the Protodynastic period. I recommend booking our Egypt tours to discover the great ancient Egyptian history in many destinations such as luxor and Aswan.

It includes the first two dynasties and goes from 3100 to 2650 B.C. The first dynasty begins with the unification of Upper and Lower Egypt by the hand of King Menes.

The Old Kingdom, which goes from 2635 to 2155 B.C and is also known as the "pyramids period", begins with the Third Dynasty and ends with the 5th dynasty.

Between the 3rd dynasty and 4th dynasties, the Old Kingdom reached its peak: in the absence of wars, everyone worked to satisfy the Pharaoh's court wishes.

The necropolis of Memphis and Saqqara and, subsequently, the three great Giza Pyramids (Cheope, Chephren, and Mycerinus) date back to this period. The Step Pyramid of King Djoser in Saqqara was also built by the genius architect Imhotep. and The pyramids of King Snefru in Dahshur (the Red Pyramid and the Bent Pyramid) are great examples of the grandeur of this period.

During the 6th dynasty, the power of the pharaohs weakened and the unity of the country also began to show signs of giving way. For over a hundred years, until the 10th dynasty, numerous Egyptian pharaohs were unable to bring Egypt back to its original splendor.All this historical information will be more clear and relevant during your Egypt luxury tours. During the 9th dynasty and 10th dynasties, the capital of the country was Heracleopolis.

The 3rd dynasty kings:2649–2575 B.C.

Zanakht 2649–2630 B.C.
Djoser 2630–2611 B.C.
Sekhemkhet 2611–2605 B.C
Khaba 2605–2599 B.C.
Huni 2599–2575 B.C.

The 4th dynasty kings:2575–2465 B.C.

Snefru 2575–2551 B.C.
Khufu 2551–2528 B.C.
Djedefre 2528–2520 B.C.
Khafre 2520–2494 B.C.
Nebka II 2494–2490 B.C.
Menkaure 2490–2472 B.C.
Shepseskaf 2472–2467 B.C.
Thamphthis 2467–2465 B.C.

The 5th dynasty kings:2465–2323 B.C.

Userkaf 2465–2458 B.C.
Sahure 2458–2446 B.C.
Neferirkare 2446–2438 B.C.
Shepseskare 2438–2431 B.C.
Neferefre 2431–2420 B.C.
Niuserre 2420–2389 B.C.
Menkauhor 2389–2381 B.C.
Isesi 2381–2353 B.C.
Unas 2353–2323 B.C.

The 6th dynasty kings:2323–2150 B.C.

Teti 2323–2291 B.C.
Userkare 2291–2289 B.C.
Pepi I 2289–2255 B.C.
Merenre I 2255–2246 B.C.
Pepi II 2246–2152 B.C.
Merenre II 2152–2152 B.C.
Netjerkare Siptah 2152–2150 B.C.

Take advantage of this offer and discover the wonders of the blessed land of Egypt, from historical times to the present day.


Customer Reviews