It is known as The Royal cache and is located next to Deir el Bahary in Theban Necrobolis, opposite the ancient city of Luxor. It was later used as a hiding place for royal mummies during the XXI Dynasty.
Deir el-Bahari cache Cemetery 320 in Thebes, known among Egyptian archaeologists as the Deir el-Bahari cache and the Luxor cache, and known internationally as DB320 and finally TT320, which is a royal cemetery located on the western mainland of the Nile, facing the current city of Luxor, and included the mummies and funeral equipment of more than fifty high-ranking Pharaonic figures between kings and queens Princes and nobles from different dynasties took turns ruling Egypt Cemetery uses It is likely that the tomb was originally built for Benozem II, the high priest of Amun Batiba, his wife Naskhenso, and some close family members. Binozem II died in 969 BC. The days of the collapse of the Egyptian empire in various aspects of life, which made the royal tombs a coveted place for thieves and those looking for quick riches or even for those looking for their daily sustenance. This prompted the priests to transfer the royal mummies to this cemetery to preserve them after Nabshahs robbed them of the graves and took all that was adorned with jewelry and ornaments. Discover the cemetery and extract its contents The entrance hole to the tomb 320 During the summer of 1871, a thief from the village of Sheikh Abd al-Qurna, a member of the Abd al-Rasool family who had been proficient in stealing antiquities, discovered a cemetery full of wooden coffins stacked on top of each other, and most of these coffins were covered with royal pretensions and a royal cobra was drawn on each of them on the front. It was known to The thieves believe that the tyrants and archaeology on the foreheads are the special features of the coffins of kings alone, because of their previous experience in stealing antiquities, and then they concealed the matter and began to sell what they were able to recover from the cemetery furniture and belongings of the kings buried there, papyrus scrolls and some small statues to collectors of antiquities, whether from the Egyptians Or foreigners, which attracted the attention of the local authorities, especially after the appearance of many artifacts that were not registered in the Egyptian museums in the antiquities and antiques markets in Europe, especially Paris, which prompted them to raid the house of the Abdel Rasoul family and find what they extracted from the cemetery, after the thieves differed among themselves and the oldest The eldest brother in the family, Mohamed Ahmed Abdel Rasoul, was called to divulge the secret and inform the authorities in Qena, who conducted investigations for several years without achieving any progress, whether by Knowing the location of the cemetery or those responsible for leaking these antiquities abroad. Then the public's imagination began to speak of wooden boxes filled with gold coins, precious ornaments and amulets. Fearing that what remained in the cemetery would be reached by other thieves, the police and the Egyptian Antiquities Authority (the Supreme Council of Antiquities at that time) extracted what remained in the cemetery in a hurry. Within 48 hours, under the supervision of the German Egyptologist Emil Bruges (known as Berksh Pasha, Assistant Secretary of the Egyptian Antiquities Authority) in 1881. Despite the security arrangements that had been prepared, this did not prevent the disappearance of a basket containing fifty blue-coated porcelain statues. The cemetery is a chasm connected to a vertical wellhead that ends with two stones connected by a corridor corridor of about 40 meters in length, the total length of the cemetery reaches about 70 meters, the first ten meters of which are formed with the main corridor in the shape of the letter L, and this gap was covered somewhat in 1881, then it was opened once Another in 1882, and both Maspero and Bruges went to it to study it permanently, as Maspero transferred and translated the inscriptions on the walls, and re-studied them again in 1938, and since 1998 a joint Russian-German team led by Erharv Gray has been studying and restoring the tomb.