Al-Ismailia Governorate Egypt

Ismailia Governorate is one of the governorates located on the eastern border of the Republic of Egypt in the middle of the Suez Canal, and is inhabited by about one million and three hundred thousand people, and includes conservative part of the Sinai Peninsula after the administrative division in 1979.

Al-Ismailia Governorate Egypt

The foundation stone was laid for the founding of the Ismailia Governorate, which was previously called the city of Timsah, because it was located north of Lake Timsah on April 27, 1862 AD during the era of Said Pasha, and in the following year, it was called Ismailia in relation to the ruler of Egypt during that period of Khedive Ismail, while the official launch of the Ismailia Governorate was during a ceremony attended by a number of The heads of the world in 1869 AD to open the Suez Canal.

This city starts from the village of Al-Mahsima and extends to the village of Dhahria, which is one of the most famous cities in the Republic of Egypt with mango and strawberry cultivation, inhabited by about 48 thousand people.

East Bridge
It is called the East because of its occurrence east of the Suez Canal, and it also includes part of its area part of the Sinai Peninsula, and this city was built on the ruins of a cemetery dating back to the Roman era, several names such as Tharo and Sila were called on this region, and it contains several archaeological landmarks such as the fortress Which was built by the Mamluk Sultan Qansuh Al-Ghuri.

And among the ancient places that exist in this city is the Museum of Ismaili Archeology

The Museum of Archeology of the Governorate dates back to its construction in 1913 AD by a group of engineers who work in the International Maritime Navigation Company, and it is distinguished by the architectural character that was built upon it taking the form of a temple, and the museum includes many rare artifacts dating back to the Pharaonic era, and it had opened The doors of the museum to allow visitors to visit it for the first time in 1934.

Adding that there is also the Museum of De Lesseps, the reason for the designation of this museum is due to the French engineer Ferdinand De Lesseps, who was based in his residence and had been granted by the Khedive Ismail the privilege of digging the Suez Canal, and the museum embraces within it some maps, tools, belongings and engineering drawings.

Abu Atwa Tank Museum. Tabia Orabi, the name of this Tabia was given to the leader of the great battle of the hill, Chief Ahmed Orabi, who stood in the face of the British occupation with courage and persistence.


Customer Reviews