The New Kingdom of Egypt History

The New Kingdom of Egypt also known as the Egyptian Empire is the period of ancient Egyptian history between the 16th century BC. And the eleventh century BC. It was Egypt's brightest and most prosperous era. Ramses II was considered one of the most famous kings of this country.

The capital was established in Thebes, in the south, and the restoration of the unity of Upper and Lower Egypt, lost during part of the Second Intermediate Period, was carried out. From the beginning, there was a great activity to restructure the country, which produced great prosperity, reflected in the construction of numerous monuments.

This period is characterized by the great importance of women and their role in succession problems. For the first time, a woman is named Pharaoh with all the male titles: Hatshepsut, and also another queen, Nefertari, is represented in family scenes, on an equal footing, as is Queen Tiyi, with her husband Amenhotep III and mother of Amenhotep IV who later became Akhenaten.

The international situation at the moment consisted of the Egyptian territory over the Canaanite cities. In Assyria, the last kings of the Old Kingdom and those of the Middle Kingdom reigned and the house domination occurs in Babylon, also agreeing with the fall of the Mycenaean kingdoms in Greece and the Exodus from Israel only existing in Egyptian sources.

The study of the eighteenth dynasty is usually divided into three stages that comprise first the first kings: From the time of King Ahmose who defeated the Hyksos, Thutmose and the story of the most powerful woman in history, Hatshepsut, and the liberation to Amenophis IV with his famous rebellion and transformation of the capital to Amarna city with the new religion forced by him to worship Aton instead of the traditional sun cult of Amun Ra. Not forgetting the restoration of the old cult under his son, King Tutankhamun.

The 19th dynasty begins with Ramses I (1293-1291), sovereign from Tanis (Delta). The reign of Ramses I was peaceful. The work of his predecessor, Horemheb, paid off in his fight against the Hittites, and his good administration was noticed in the following years, managing to reorganize the Kingdom. Since he had no male heir, he passed the power on to another soldier who was a warrior ruler. But the most powerful king during this dynasty is Ramses II.

The Hittites were defeated by Ramses II who make a great contribution along with his reign in the architecture by erecting Abu Simbel temples which are two massive rock temples at Abu Simbel, a village in Nubia, Upper Egypt, near the borders with Sudan.

Actually, there's a lot to talk about during the new kingdom epoch, but you can browse our list of dividing the history of Egypt into kingdoms interrupted with intermediate periods and classified in 30 dynasties.

Kings of the New Kingdom: 1550–1070 B.C.

The 18th dynasty: 1550–1295 B.C.

  • Ahmose                1550–1525 B.C.
  • Amenhotep           1525–1504 B.C.
  • Thutmose I           1504–1492 B.C.
  • Thutmose II          1492–1479 B.C.
  • Thutmose III         1479–1425 B.C.
  • Hatshepsut (as regent)1479–1473 B.C.
  • Hatshepsut           1473–1458 B.C.
  • Amenhotep II        1427–1400 B.C.
  • Thutmose IV         1400–1390 B.C.
  • Amenhotep III        1390–1352 B.C.
  • Amenhotep IV        1353–1349 B.C.
  • Akhenaten             1349–1336 B.C.
  • Neferneferuaton    1338–1336 B.C.
  • Smenkhkare          1336 B.C.
  • Tutankhamen         1336–1327 B.C.
  • Ay                           1327–1323 B.C.
  • Horemheb              1323–1295 B.C.

The 19th dynasty: 1295–1186 B.C.

  • Ramesses I     1295–1294 B.C.
  • Seti I                1294–1279 B.C.
  • Ramesses II    1279–1213 B.C.
  • Merneptah       1213–1203 B.C.
  • Amenmesse    1203–1200 B.C.
  • Seti II               1200–1194 B.C.
  • Siptah              1194–1188 B.C.
  • Tawosret          1188–1186 B.C.

The 20th dynasty: 1186–1070 B.C.

  • Sethnakht         1186–1184 B.C.
  • Ramesses III      1184–1153 B.C.
  • Ramesses IV      1153–1147 B.C.
  • Ramesses V       1147–1143 B.C.
  • Ramesses VI      1143–1136 B.C.
  • Ramesses VII     1136–1129 B.C.
  • Ramesses VIII    1129–1126 B.C.
  • Ramesses IX      1126–1108 B.C.
  • Ramesses X       1108–1099 B.C.
  • Ramesses XI      1099–1070 B.C.

If you're planning to visit Egypt, then you should consider reviewing our detailed Egypt travel guide, as it is a very unique experience during Egypt Tours that is not comparable with any other things to do in Egypt. You can enjoy one of the Classic tours in Egypt, that all travelers would like to cruise the Nile River during Christmas tours in Egypt or while the best weather during Easter tours in Egypt. Covering most of Cairo day tripsLuxor day tours in addition to Aswan excursions, that is why our travel information section is meant to useful before proceeding with Egypt's best tours for those who seek culture, history of Egypt, and luxurious accommodation while sailing the Nile Valley.