The mosque is attributed to the Sufi imam and poet Sharaf al-Din Abu Abdullah Muhammad bin Saeed Hammad bin Mohsen - nicknamed Al-Busairi in relation to the city of Busir in Upper Egypt, who lived in the period from 1213 AD - 1295 AD, and his ancestors belonged to a branch of the Sanhaja tribe in the Maghreb, some of whom migrated to Egypt And they settled.
Al-Busairi Mosque takes almost the same architectural form as the Abu Al-Abbas Al-Mursi Mosque. The architectural layout of the Imam Al-Busairi Mosque consists of a rectangular area with four facades, the northeastern facade, and the southwestern facade being the main facades.
The mosque consists of a rectangular area that contains the mosque’s courtyard, a prayer house, a prayer room for women, a toilet, an Islamic library, and a mausoleum dome.
the mosques of Egypt are indispensable places that have to be covered by cruise passengers that dock in the various Egyptian ports our Egypt shore excursions can take you to spend quality time in Cairo during Excursions From Sokhna port or even if you only stop in another port we can make it from Port Said shore excursions
The mosque has five domes. The first dome is adjacent to the minaret on the southwestern facade, which is the dome of the shrine of Imam al-Busairy. The second dome is followed by the minaret and is in the middle of the prayer house. The other three domes are located on the northeastern facade and are three adjacent domes that cover the ceiling of the Islamic library attached to the mosque.
The mausoleum dome attached to the mosque is located behind the prayer house on the southwestern side. It is a square plan area with a marble structure in the middle, inside which is the shrine of Imam al-Busairy. The ceiling of the mausoleum dome is covered by a dome that is carried on rows of muqarnas, which are bound in wood. The walls are surrounded by white writings on the blue ground from Poetic verses from Burdah al-Busairy. On the western end of the southwestern wall, there is a marble tombstone with an inscription in simple Kufic script dating back to the sixth century AH.
The women’s prayer room can be reached through a door opening in the outer hallway of the mosque, where this door leads to an ascending circular staircase that leads to the women’s prayer room. The mosque was also attached to a room that is currently used by the imam of the mosque. It is located to the left of the entrance hall on the southeast side. It is a rectangular room with a floor on the southwest side, and a good spout with a white marble bead on it.
His mosque and tomb have recently been restored in the Anfoushi neighborhood of Alexandria, and they play a major role in the city's life, attracting visitors from all over the world. The mosque boasts a beautiful manuscript mural that includes 94 verses of the Burda poem inscribed with Quranic commentaries and verses.