This mosque was built on the system of schools with orthogonal planning, as it includes an open courtyard surrounded by four arched iwans. This mosque was all made of stone in the form of vaults of different shapes. The qibla iwan is covered by a flat dome made of white and red stone courses in succession.
The mosque was built in Salah al-Din Bahri Square, Mahmudiya Mosque. It is built in high honor. It has two facades, one eastern, and the eastern facade of the iwan, and the dome and the second tribal, and it has the facade of the dome, the main entrance, and the lighthouse.
The layout of the mosque is from a central courtyard on which four roofed iwans are perpendicular with arches of various shapes. The southern and northern iwans are small with pointed arches, the western iwan has a ceiling with a cross vault, and the eastern iwan is the qibla iwan roofed with a spherical vault flanked on both sides by two circular vaults.
The Qani Bey Al-Ramah Mosque
It is considered one of the hanging mosques and is built on cross-arches, carried by square stone shoulders that are below the western iwan. From the grace of God, the high honorable residence, Mawlawi al-Saifi, Qani Bey, a great Akhur prince, may God Almighty honor him.”
Written on the door of the dome reads, “In the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. Enter it in peace and security.” Above it is a line that says, “Oh God, we ask you for forgiveness, wellness, and lasting well-being in both homes, and an inscription on the dome” in the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. God, there is no god but He, the Living, the Subsisting, He commanded the establishment of this blessed dome.
Written on the mihrab, “In the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. We may see your face flip in the sky.” The wall reads, “In the name of God, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful. And those who feared their Lord was led to heaven in groups. He ordered the construction of this blessed dome, the honorable, noble, high, emir, the great, the emir, the great, the master, the Sindhi, the Addhi, the Maliki, the Makhdoumi, the Sifi: Qani Bay, the prince of Akhur, the great royal, the Ash-Sharqi, the date of the beginning of the honorable Sha’ban in the year nine hundred and eight.”
This mosque was built by Emir Qanibay Al-Saifi, Emir of Akhur in the year 908 AH (1502 AD), during the days of the Sultanate of Qansuh al-Ghouri 1501-1516, and a Sabil and a book were attached to it.
In the southeast corner of the courtyard, a door leads to the shrine room in which the builder of the Qanibay mosque was buried. The mausoleum is surmounted by a dome on its outer surface with delicate vegetal decorations carved in stone. It is a dome protruding from the eastern facade of the mosque.
The main mihrab of the mosque is located on the southern facade, and the minaret rises to the left of the main door. It is built of stone and consists of two square floors. Above the second cycle are two square bases, each with a head on top, and a minaret with two heads.
The mihrab is in the front of the qibla iwan, and it is made of stone, adjoining it is a small pulpit made of wood with fillings inlaid with ivory.
It is located under the citadel on the seaside of Muhammad Ali Square, and its rituals are built it has a purifier and a well, and it contains the mausoleum of Sheikh Abdullah Abi Shaaban Al-Ramah, it has a shrine made of wood, and next to the fountain is a palm tree.