Sabil - Kutab Umm Abbas was established in 1284 AH corresponding to 1867 AD in Cairo. It was established by "Bamba Qaden" Umm Abbas Pasha and the wife of Prince Ahmed Toson Pasha.
Sabil - Kutab Umm Abbas is located at the intersection of Al Rakbeya Street, Al Sioufia Street, and Al Saliba Street, in the Citadel District in Cairo. The Sabil consists of two levels, the first level is underground, and there are tanks that were used to store water, and they were transported in a “leather bag” with water from the Nile to be free of impurities.
This stage used to take place in August of each year during the flood season, so that the impurities were less at this time, which is a room with three windows, and in this way, there is a marble slab called “Al-Shazrawan”, which is distinctive and of double benefit, the first is water cooling Drinking and purifying water from impurities, and the second was to clean this marble slab at the end of each day.
The Sabil was named by this name in sympathy for the soul of her son, and Princess Bamba Qaden insisted that the Sabil be called Umm Abbas, not by her name, in memory of her late deceased son Abbas Helmy I (1280-1296 AH / 1863-1879 AD), the governor of Egypt. Khedive Ismail Pasha's uncle.
It was dedicated to distributing pure drinking water scented with rose water, to passersby, seeking reward and invocation of supplication. It was like a public water fountain and there was a school above it. The Umm Abbas Sabil is one of the most impressive buildings on Saliba Street.
Decorate the architecture with marble floral designs, which are inspired by European Rococo designs. The Sabil is planned in the form of an octagon, and this layout is one of the rare examples in Cairo. It is covered by a splendid dome without a transition zone, and the facade is covered with marble and decorated in Baroque and Rococo styles.
Attached to the way was a "Kutab" or school to teach children the Holy Qur'an, mainly, teachers were appointed to teach children modern sciences, as in government schools during the era of Khedive Ismail.
It is distinguished by the presence of writings in Arabic and Turkish, the writing on the walls is immortalized in Arabic and Turkish, and one of the written tapes ends with the name of the calligrapher Abdullah Al-Zahdi Al-Nabulsi.
The Sabil is about to disappear from its archaeological features due to a large number of dust covering it and forming within its engravings, and its wooden sign has been damaged and may fall due to rusting nails, and the iron fence that surrounds the monument, its walls filled with posters that concealed some cracks, and on one of its walls there is a clock whose hands and numbers have fallen from Lots of dust.